Side Dish Main Dish

I know that the title is a little confusing, but it got you here…didn’t it ;-).  I am always looking for ways to make the dinner hour easier without having to resort to the ‘ol takeout standby and at the same time feed our family of 5 on budget!  One way that I am able to do both is by thinking outside of the box.  When I make my weekly Meal Plan and grocery list on Thursday evenings I scan through my local grocery store flyers looking for what is on sale and base my week’s meals off of those sale items!  I cannot take credit for this as this was something that my mother taught me and this process has helped my family tremendously during some very lean times!  I do my best to stay away from too much overly processed foods but once in a while I feel is not an issue, especially when it’s one sale!

sidekick-supper3

For this recipe I used the Knorr Sidekicks that come in the envelope type packages.  In order to feed my entire family (with a teenager included) I needed four packages.  I refer to this dinner around the house as Sidekick Supper.

Sidekick Supper

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1lb of ground beef or chicken  sidekick-supper2
  • 4 packages of Knorr Sidekicks, any flavour
  • 1-1/2 cups of frozen mixed vegetables
  • 1/2 an onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • salt, to taste
  • black pepper, to taste

Directions

  1. Brown ground beef or ground chicken in a medium saucepan.
  2. Add chopped onion and garlic to meat in pan.
  3. Add salt and pepper (if using).
  4. Put all four packages of the Sidekicks in the saucepan and add the milk/water as specified in the instructions on the packages (remember to add 4x the amounts).
  5. Keep stirring the mixture until it comes to a boil.
  6. Add the frozen vegetables, mix and cover.
  7. Continue to stir occasionally until noodles are tender and sauce thickens.

In my book this is a complete meal on it’s own but I wouldn’t deter you, if you wanted to  add a salad or some other veggies on the side.  It is tasty and easy and it’s of those meals where my kids don’t complain and every mom needs that once in a while!

Try it and let me know how it’s received in your household.

Until next time.

 

 

Leave a Reply

