Sweet Potato Baked Oatmeal

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

sweet-potato-baked-oatmeal-title

I go on a retreat every year in the spring and a few years ago, while there, I was introduced to this wonderful breakfast treat.  Baked Oatmeal has since become a morning staple in our household, I introduced it to my kids by referring to it as breakfast cake, now that they are older and now that I know they love it, there is no need to disguise it with a made up moniker, because it is so GOOD!

bakedoatmeal

This recipe is a variation to the base recipe that I usually make (which I will also post at some point 🙂 ).  Sweet potatoes supply our bodies with calcium, potassium and they have an exceptional amount of vitamin A and beta-carotene, but….no one in my family will eat them except me.  I have had to come up with creative ways to add sweet potatoes to our diet and this is one of those ways.

sweet-potato-baked-oatmeal

Sweet Potato Baked Oatmeal

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Time: 45 mins, includes baking time of 30 mins
  • Difficulty: Medium
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 3 ½ cups of oats (regular or quick oats)sweet-potato-baked-oatmeal-title
  • 2 tsp of baking powder
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • ½ tsp of nutmeg
  • ½ cup of brown sugar
  • ¼ cup of vegetable or coconut oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup of cooked and mashed sweet potato
  • 1 cup of milk

Directions

  1. Set oven to 350 F.
  2. Mix first 6 ingredients together in a large bowl.
  3. Mix next 4 ingredients in a small bowl until well incorporated.
  4. Pour the wet ingredients into the large bowl with the oatmeal mixture and stir.
  5. Pour mixture into a greased 8×8 inch pan.
  6. Bake for 30 minutes.

After you have made this recipe a few times you could probably reduce the mixing time down to 10 minutes or less.  I often buy sweet potatoes and will steam them, mash them and then place in bags in the freezer, most often than not I use them for baking so this system works perfectly for me.

This is a great recipe to prepare the night before and place in the fridge then all that is left to do in the morning is place it in the oven, just be sure to give yourself  an extra 30 minutes for baking 🙂

I usually serve this warm (although it is still great cold!) with some milk, a little brown sugar and cinnamon.

This beats a sticky bowl of oatmeal any day!

Try it…let me know what you and your family think!

Until next time.

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Baked Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

