Home Ownership and Barbeque

BBQChickenTitle

For those of us who are homeowners (and for those of you who have yet to own a home this is a cautionary tale) remember the days when you were in the desperate pursuit of looking for a house…remember the dreams of cutting the grass and the lovely gardens you would have and my favourite…all that extra storage that was coming your way! Yes!! I remember those days…those delusional days. Now it’s “why is the grass so long didn’t you just cut it yesterday!”…and “seriously…why won’t it rain …the grass is brown, the flowers are wilting …please God send rain!” and… “I would love to buy that______ but where would I put it?” Yes, home ownership…the joys and disappointments.

That is my segue into the bbq part, here we go. Last year my husband was able to score a sweet deal on an awesome practically new deluxe bbq …you know, the ones with the side burner and extra shelf…bells and whistles J. Anyway, I really enjoy bbqing and I even have homemade charcoal this year (that’s another post), due to all the warm weather we have been having lately I have been able to start my bbqing season early, which is awesome! However in my excitement I neglected to pull the bbq far enough away from my house, on the deck where it sits, and … brace yourselves …the back of my house is covered in vinyl siding.

You can guess what happened, the siding didn’t melt, but by the time I had finished bbqing my delicious chicken legs that siding was pretty warped. What does a wife do when she senses impending doom (or at least heavy finger wagging) from her man, she tries to fix it herself…I made it worse…don’t worry, he doesn’t know yet, not sure if he’s even seen it as I pushed the bbq directly in front of it J. This won’t be a secret for long as he does read my posts…sometimes 😉 .

Onto the good part. I started to season my chicken for bbqing when I realized that I forgot to purchase bbq sauce at the store. What do I do…make my own, of course! Here is my very own (1 of about 6) recipe for bbq sauce.

Lisa's Homemade BBQ Sauce

  • Time: 15 mins
  • Difficulty: Super Easy
  • Print

Like a lot of things I make, I did not measure… I eye-balled, so measurements are all approximate.

Ingredients

  • Half a tin of tomato soupBBQChicken
  • ¼ cup of brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp. of ketchup
  • ¼ cup of salsa (smooth it out with a hand blender)
  • 1 tsp of garlic powder
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • ¼ tsp of crushed chili flakes (you can omit if you prefer)
  • 1 tsp of soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp. of molasses
  • ½ cup of water

Directions

  1. Toss all ingredients, except the water, in the saucepan.
  2. Mix ingredients over medium heat until well incorporated.
  3. Add some of the water (about half) mix in, bring mixture to a simmer and add second ½ of water (if you like the consistency don’t add the second half).
  4. Let it simmer on medium low for 10 minutes.

I had plenty of sauce for 20 chicken legs and there was a small amount (about ¼ cup) remaining. It wasn’t spicy so if you enjoy spiciness add more chili flakes or even cayenne pepper (just a little). I did season the chicken beforehand with a little salt, pepper and garlic powder. This is one of those make lemonade situations and if I hadn’t forgotten to purchase the bbq sauce I would have never created my own tasty sauce. Hmm.. funny how what seems like a mistake isn’t one at all.

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

