Parmesan Herb Dinner Rolls

My mother taught my sisters and I a very valuable lesson in how we eat and it is one that has been echoed by many mothers over time “Always have a balanced meal!” It is not necessarily what you eat but how much of what you eat!  Vegetables are great for you but too much of a good thing could have negative effects on your body.  Now before I get all sorts of comments extolling the virtues of a vegetarian diet let me be clear, even in a vegetarian or vegan diet there needs to be balance of all the nutrients a body needs…no vegetarian is going to only eat kale!?!

Due to my mother’s good training I try to ensure that each of my family’s meals are balanced (i.e. a carbohydrate, a protein and vegetables) that’s just keeping it basic and simple and I am hoping that my kids will learn that this is the best way to eat at every meal. That being said I am also a person that likes loves variety (after all it is the spice of life 🙂 ). My family could go through an entire month without eating the same thing…no kidding!

This recipe is a result of my desire for variety. I took my basic dinner roll recipe and jazzed it up.

Parmesan Herb Dinner Rolls

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Time: 30 mins
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 2-1/3 cups of flour
  • 2-1/2 tsps of baking powder
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • ¼ cup of parmesan plus 2 tbsps for sprinkling
  • 1 tbsp of Italian seasoning
  • ¼ cup of mayonnaise
  • 1 cup of milk (be generous)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). If you are not using a non-stick pan, grease 12 cups of a regular muffin pan.
  2. In a medium bowl stir together the flour, baking powder, salt, parmesan and Italian seasoning.
  3. Add the mayonnaise and mix into the flour mixture with a pastry blender or 2 knives. Spoon in to the muffin pan and sprinkle with parmesan.
  4. Bake for 25 minutes in the preheated oven, or until puffed and browned.

The flavours of the parmesan and Italian seasoning really meld well together. These are a delicious accompaniment to soups and pastas.  This recipe yields a dozen but if your family is similar to my family of 5 there won’t be any left.

Enjoy. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

