Shrimp and Avocado Sandwich

Fish 009

So I kinda have some news that I have yet to share with you.  A few months ago I decided that I would try the Paleo diet.  I have to admit that it has been a rough ride.  I decided to go this route because I suffer from a lot of autoimmune issues and I had thyroid surgery in 2013.  I must admit, this Paleo thing is tough (especially when you have a non-paleo family!)  What makes it even more difficult is that I am doing the AIP (Autoimmune Paleo) diet which is even more exclusive and on top of that I am allergic to nuts…so there is absolutely nothing left for me to eat!  Then I bumped into a friend who is Paleo and she pretty much told me that I was crazy and that I needed to adjust the diet so it worked for me…she was right and I have.

One thing I am glad about is my rediscovery of avocado!  Paleoites (I think that’s a word) use a lot of coconut, a lot of nuts and a lot of avocado in their meals!  I always enjoyed avocado but I and my 10 year old daughter are the only ones who really enjoy it in my household, the boys…not so much, so I don’t buy it often.  Since switching to this kinda, sorta paleo life I do pick it up more often from the store.

The other day I was looking through the fridge to quickly make something for my lunch and I was having difficulty.  I saw 1/2 an avocado…ok this was a start, some english muffins (ok…so this is the non-paleo part) and in the freezer I located a bag with a few shrimp.  I made up this quick sandwich.

I made this on the fly and I wasn’t planning on taking pictures and while I was taking the pictures all I wanted to do was EAT, so…I apologize for the very, not so great photos!

Shrimp and Avocado Sandwich

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 15 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Fish 008

Ingredients:

  • 1 English muffin
  • 1/2 an avocado
  • 4-6 frozen uncooked shrimp
  • 1/2 clove of garlic
  • 2 slices of mozzarella or swiss cheese

Directions:

  1. Heat a small frying pan to medium high (add a little olive oil if not non-stick).  Place your shrimp in the pan with the garlic and salt (add some pepper to taste if desired).
  2. When shrimp just starts to turn pink slice avocado lengthwise in strips and add to to one side of the pan.  Sprinkle with a pinch of sea salt.
  3. Toast english muffin.  Place avocado, pink shrimp  and cheese on one half of the english muffin.
  4. cover with the other half of the english muffin and enjoy!

Absolutely loved this and it was quite simple.  Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

