10 Days of Easy Christmas Cookies Day 9

Day-9 Sugar Cookie Cut-outs

 Sugar Cookie Cut-Outs 002

Today’s cookie is fun!  I mean it!  The dough resembles playdough, you get to roll it out and cut fun shapes out of it, and then sprinkle candies on top that give the cookie a real pretty look to it.  Fun!

My kids came in from school just as I was finishing up and my youngest son was disappointed because he wanted to help.  Wow!  These past 9 days have turned my football loving, mud wearing, hockey playing 7 year old into a baking aficionado! (ok, that maybe taking it a little far, but I wanted to emphasize how much of a big deal this is).  I still have a chance to bring one of them over…Yes!

This is another Kraft Canada recipe that I have used many times and it is in an 11 yr. old magazine that I have.  When I checked it out online they had made changes to it so here it is, as in the magazine.

Sugar Cookie Cut-outs

  • Time: 40 mins
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients:Sugar Cookie Cut-Outs 001

  • 1 pkg. (250 g) of Cream Cheese, softened
  • 3/4 cup of butter/margarine, softened
  • 1 cup of granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp. of vanilla
  • 2-1/4 cups of flour
  • 1/2 tsp. of baking soda
  • Life Savers candies

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.  Beat cream cheese, butter, granulated sugar and vanilla in large bowl with electric mixer on medium speed until well blended.  Add flour and baking soda; mix well.
  2. Roll dough to 1/8 inch thickness on lightly floured surface.  Cut into assorted shapes using 3-inch cookie cutters.  Place on greased baking sheets.
  3. Bake 10-12 mins. or  until edges begin to brown.  Transfer cookies to wire rack; immediately press about 1/2 tsp. crushed Life Savers candy onto each hot cookie.  Cool completely on rack.

Makes about 3-1/2 dozen cookies, 1 cookie per serving. (I was able to make 4 dozen).

Tips:

  • Do you prep work-make sure you have cream cheese out for an hour so that it is soft enough to work with.  Crush your lifesavers before hand (I used 10 for each colour).
  • This dough is really soft so I sprinkled it with about 2 tbsp. of flour to make it less sticky.  I also floured my work surface really well (not lightly as suggested).
  • After the cookies were finished baking I sprinkled the candies on while still on the baking sheet and put them back in the oven for about 30 seconds, so the candies would melt a bit and then harden to the cookie as they cooled.
  • Make sure they are well cooled prior to packing away or the candy will stick the cookies together.

I have to admit that I do not know if this is a good candidate for freezing, but that is where they are going as I will not need them for another week.  I will let you know how they were after coming out of the freezer.

Hope you try these ones also.  If you do I would love to know ❤ !

Until tomorrow…

 

One thought on “10 Days of Easy Christmas Cookies Day 9

  1. Pingback: 10 Days of Easy Christmas Cookies-Cookie Roundup |

Leave a Reply

