A Veggie Meal For Meat Lovers… Cajun Red Beans and Rice

I know, I know you’ve heard it before…”these veggie burgers taste just like meat!!” Only to be very disappointed when you try them, because they don’t!  Don’t get me wrong,  vegetarian meals have come a long way in recent years and even though I am a meat lover I try to have a non meat meal at least once a week.  This is where this recipe comes in, it doesn’t taste like meat (I’m being honest here) but you won’t miss not having meat in it. For those of you that MUST have meat there is an option to add it into this recipe…see everyone is happy!

I am giving you the link to the recipe here as it is not my own.  I came across it on the Canadian Living website several years ago and it has become a menu staple in my household.  What I will do is add a few tweaks (below) to it that I feel makes the recipe a little nicer : ) As well as helpful information that is not provided for this recipe.

red-beans-and-rice2

 

Cajun Red Beans and Rice recipe tweaks!

  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

red-beans-and-rice1

*Please note that the recipe ingredients does not include 1 cup of water but it is in the prep. *

  • I only add 1/2 cup of water as I find 1 cup in addition to the 2 cups of stock is a bit much
  • If you are not worried about keeping it a vegetarian recipe you can use a meat based stock also (chicken or beef).
  • Not all stores carry Cajun seasoning (I don’t purchase it that often).  So I have created my own substitute, 2 tsps of Seasoned Salt and 1/2 tsp. of Cayenne Pepper (this is in addition to the salt and pepper already called for in the recipe).

Those are my tweaks!   I have shared this recipe with many of my friends and family and they all love it!  Try it out and let me know what you think.

Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

